Welcome

St. Matthew's Catholic School is a Pre-school through 8th grade Elementary and Middle school. We focus on providing a faith-based, academically challenging curriculum, for the whole child. We emphasize service to others, and encourage traditional Gospel values.

We invite you to stop by for a visit to see our school in action!

Mrs. Mallory Levengood
Kindergarten
levengood@stmattsaints.org
Mrs. Mary Wagner
Second Grade
wagner@stmattsaints.org

Mrs. Callie Moore
Fifth Grade
moore@stmattsaints.org
Mrs. Emmy Hartney
6th - 8th English Language Arts
7th Homeroom
hartney@stmattsaints.org
Mrs. Margaret Stell
Librarian
3rd 4th 5th Computers
3rd 4th Keyboarding
stell@stmattsaints.org
Mrs. Jennifer Griffith
Art
Culture
8th French
griffith@stmattsaints.org

Faculty and Staff

Mrs. Lona Cross
Kindergarten
cross@stmattsaints.org
Mrs. Erin Mouat
Third Grade
emouat@stmattsaints.org

Sister Judy Lund
5th and 6th Grade Religion
6th Homeroom
julu186@stmattsaints.org
Mr. Doug Manaker
6th - 8th Social Studies
7th 8th Religion
8th Homeroom
manaker@stmattsaints.org
Mr. Phil Jackson
PE
K 1st 2nd Computers
6th 7th  8th Health
jackson@stmattsaints.org
Mr. Neil Bergman
Principal
bergman@stmattsaints.org
Mrs. Susie Rainwater
First Grade
rainwater@stmattsaints.org
Mrs. Loretta Cornish
Fourth Grade
cornish@stmattsaints.org

Mrs. Myrna Matulevich
6th - 8th Science
8th Computers
6th Homeroom
tech@stmattsaints.org
Mrs. Catherine Carter
Music
Band
carter@stmattsaints.org
Mrs. Theresa Surynt
Registrar
registrar@stmattsaints.org
 
Miss. Amanda Dudis
6th - 8th Mathematics
6th 7th Computers
dudis@stmattsaints.org

Curriculum

 

Religion

Religious education is what we are and do. Our students pray several times every day and attend Mass weekly. Students receive formal religion instruction each day, and religion classes emphasize family life, social justice, and Christian service. In all classes, gospel values are communicated.

Math

K-5 use Abeka for math instruction daily. 6-8 use Open Up Resources for instruction through Geometry and Algebra.

English

K-2 use Daily 5 to practice phonics based Reading and Writing Skills.

3-5 emphasis on Reading, Writing, Spelling and Grammar.

6-8 daily instruction in Reading, Writing, Spelling, and Grammar.

Social Studies

Social Studies is taught K-8. Students learn about social structures, world and US history, basic economics, study of cultures, ancient and modern, government, Montana history through research, field trips, and the use of media.

Science

Science is taught K-8, with K-5 study science weekly with instruction in Life Science, Physical Science and Earth Science.

6th - 8th grade students have Science as a core class, with weekly hands-on labs. 

6th grade studies Earth Science: Geology, Earthquakes, Astronomy, Glaciers,Rivers and Streams, and Mount Everest.

7th grade studies Biology, completing a summer collection of either insects or wildflowers prior to 7th grade. They study classification of life, cells, DNA and genetics, Ecology, Evolution, and Human Body Systems.

8th grade studies Physical Science and Chemistry, learning about Newton's Laws of Motion, Electricity and Magnetism, Atomic Theory and the Periodic Table, and Avalanche/Snow Science. 

Computers/Technology

St. Matthew Catholic School offers an environment of advanced and responsible technology to our students. 

  • Students in grade K-5 have formal computer instruction once a week.

  • 3rd and 4th grade have keyboarding practice daily.

  • Students in grade 3-8 are assigned a school Google account where they can work in Google drive completing online projects.

  • Students in 6th - 8th are issued a chromebook for daily in-school use.

Music

Music is taught in grades K through 8. It is a comprehensive program based on state and national guidelines and includes music appreciation, rhythm, reading basic notation, the history of music, the variety of types of music, liturgical music, music programs, and the basic knowledge and use of simple instruments. 5th - 8th have the option of taking Band classes.

French

Spanish is taught in grades K through 8 and emphasizes vocabulary, basic grammar, usage, conversational phrases, French culture and music.

Art

Art is taught in grades K through 8. The focus is on the use of various art media, art appreciation and history, and art displays.

Physical Education

Physical Education is taught in grades K through 8. The emphasis is on basic skills, movement, fair play, exercise, games, and the rules and skills of games. 

Health

Health Education is taught in grades 6through 8, with an emphasis is on nutrition, and care of the body.

Tuition and Admissions

Saint Matthew's has a cost-based, need based tuition program. Cost based in that tuition amounts assessed are based on the cost to educate a projected student population. Need based in that a family’s ability to pay tuition is determined through the FACTS Grant & Aid Assessment for Kindergarten through 8th grade students.

 

Contact Us:

(406) 752-6303

office@stmattsaints.org

602 South Main
Kalispell, MT 59901

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Please consider a donation to

St. Matthew's Catholic School.

Any donation is greatly appreciated!